VII. The Contemporary Period, 1945–2000 > D. Latin America, 1945–2000 > 2. South America, 1945–2000 > g. Ecuador
  The Encyclopedia of World History.  2001.
(See 1942, Jan. 29)
g. Ecuador
1946, Aug. 11
PRES. JOSÉ VELASCO IBARRA (1893–1979) was reelected by the assembly.  1
1947, Aug. 23
Col. Mancheno, in a successful revolt, ousted Pres. Velasco Ibarra, only to be overthrown himself on Sept. 3 by a Conservative counterrevolution. Carlos Arosemena became acting president.  2
1948, June 6
In the first popular elections since 1940, Galo Plaza Lasso was elected president.  3
1949, Aug. 5
An earthquake in central Ecuador killed more than 4,000 people.  4
1952, June 1
Voters gave the Liberal candidate, Velasco Ibarra, an upset victory over the Conservative candidate in the presidential vote.  5
1961, Nov. 6–9
The government resigned as a result of riots and military unrest. Carlos Arosemena was installed as president.  6
1963, July 11–12
A military junta, headed by Capt. Ramón Castro Jijón, overthrew the government, outlawed the Communist Party, and promised to wipe out pro-Castro guerrilla bands.  7
1966, March 29
The military junta was overthrown and a civilian government established under Clemente Yerovi Indaburu.  8
Oct. 16
A constituent assembly named Otto Arosemena Gómez as president pro tem.  9
The Encyclopedia of World History, Sixth edition. Peter N. Stearns, general editor. Copyright © 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Maps by Mary Reilly, copyright 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.