VII. The Contemporary Period, 1945–2000 > B. Europe, 1945–2000 > 6. Western Europe, 1945–2000 > f. The Italian Region
  The Encyclopedia of World History.  2001.
(See June 4)
f. The Italian Region
1. Italy
Presidents: Enrico de Nicola (1946–48); Luigi Einaudi (1948–55); Giovanni Gronchi (1955–62); Antonio Segni (1962–64); Guiseppe Saragat (1964–71); Giovanni Leone (1971–78); Alessandro Pertini (1978–85); Francesco Cossiga (1985–92); Oscar Luigi Scalfaro (1992– ).  1
1945, Nov. 30
The leader of the Christian Democrats, Alcide de Gasperi, formed a new government supported by all major parties.  2
1946, Jan. 1
With the transfer of Bolzano province by the Allies, the whole country, except for Venezia Giulia (claimed by both Italy and Yugoslavia), was under Italian sovereignty.  3
May 9
KING VICTOR EMMANUEL III ABDICATED. His son proclaimed himself King Umberto II.  4
June 2
Elections to the Constituent Assembly gave 207 seats (out of 556) to the Christian Democrats, 115 to the Socialists, and 104 to the Communists. At the same time, a referendum rejected the monarchy, 12,717,923 votes to 10,719,284, thus making ITALY A REPUBLIC.  5
June 11
The prime minister, Alcide de Gasperi, was made temporary head of state.  6
June 13
King Umberto, while refusing to accept the popular verdict against the monarchy, left the country to prevent the outbreak of violence.  7
The Encyclopedia of World History, Sixth edition. Peter N. Stearns, general editor. Copyright © 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Maps by Mary Reilly, copyright 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.