VII. The Contemporary Period, 1945–2000 > D. Latin America, 1945–2000 > 4. Mexico, 1946–2000 > e. British Caribbean Territories and Guyana (British Guiana)
  The Encyclopedia of World History.  2001.
e. British Caribbean Territories and Guyana (British Guiana)
1953, Oct. 6
Britain dispatched troops and warships to Guiana to handle a suspected attempt to set up a Communist regime there.  1
1956, Feb. 23
Delegates from Jamaica, Trinidad, Tobago, Barbados, the Windward Islands, and the Leeward Islands came to a preliminary agreement for a Caribbean federation.  2
1957, Aug. 12
Cheddi Jagan's (b. 1918) left-wing party won 9 of the 14 elective seats in the Guiana legislative council. On Aug. 16, Gov. Patrick Renison invited Jagan to participate in, but not to form, a new cabinet.  3
1958, Jan. 3
The Federation of the West Indies came into being. The 77,000-square-mile federation, with a population of 3 million, was composed of ten units: Trinidad, Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla, Dominica, and Antigua.  4
1960, March 31
The British colonial office announced that if a new constitution was accepted for British Guiana, it would go into effect in Aug. 1961. Two years after the general election, full independence would be considered.  5
Aug. 21
The People's Progressive Party in Guiana, headed by Cheddi Jagan, won 20 of the 35 seats in the legislative council.  6
Sept. 19
Jamaica voted to withdraw from the West Indies Federation.  7
The Encyclopedia of World History, Sixth edition. Peter N. Stearns, general editor. Copyright © 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Maps by Mary Reilly, copyright 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.