VII. The Contemporary Period, 1945–2000 > B. Europe, 1945–2000 > 7. Eastern Europe, 1945–2000
  The Encyclopedia of World History.  2001.
(See 1944, Aug. 1)
7. Eastern Europe, 1945–2000
a. Poland
1945, April 21
The Soviet government and a Polish provisional government set up in Moscow agreed on a 20-year treaty of mutual aid.  1
June 12
The British and French, who favored the Polish government in exile in London, persuaded the USSR to agree to a tripartite commission that would aid in the organization of a Polish government.  2
At the Yalta Conference, Poland's eastern territories were reduced approximately to the “Curzon line” of 1919, while its western border, pending a final peace settlement, was extended to the Oder-Neisse line in eastern Germany. The leadership of postwar Poland was claimed by two rival groups, the Soviet-sponsored provisional government at Lublin, and the Polish government in exile in London.  3
June 28
After lengthy negotiations, a government of national unity was formed, under Socialist premier Eduard Osobka-Morawski of the Lublin administration. It was recognized by the Western powers, though its leanings turned out to be decidedly pro-Soviet. For this reason, many Polish citizens who, as displaced persons or members of Poland's armed forces, were still in Western Europe refused to be repatriated.  4
The Encyclopedia of World History, Sixth edition. Peter N. Stearns, general editor. Copyright © 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Maps by Mary Reilly, copyright 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.