VII. The Contemporary Period, 1945–2000 > F. South and Southeast Asia, 1945–2000 > 1. South Asia, 1945–2000 > c. The Republic of India
  The Encyclopedia of World History.  2001.
c. The Republic of India
1947, Aug. 15
The Dominion of India was inaugurated in Delhi, with Pandit Tawaherlal Nehru as prime minister and Lord Mountbatten as governor-general. Most of the Indian states (princely and chiefly), notably excepting Hyderabad, Kashmir, and Junagadh, acceded to the new dominion for defense, external affairs, and communications, while retaining their internal sovereignties.  1
Oct. 26
The government of India admitted Kashmir into the Indian Union, thus precipitating a crisis with Pakistan, since Kashmir contained a majority of Muslims.  2
Nov. 9
The Indian government assumed control over the administration of the state of Junagadh.  3
Dec. 30
After vain attempts to solve the conflict over Kashmir, the dispute was referred to the UN. Sporadic fighting continued in Kashmir between Indian and Muslim forces.  4
The Encyclopedia of World History, Sixth edition. Peter N. Stearns, general editor. Copyright © 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Maps by Mary Reilly, copyright 2001 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.